The Web Site for Earth Reference Data and Models

MagIC database global seminar series - 2 March 2015, 08:00 PST

The Magnetics Information Consortium (MagIC) is sponsoring a global seminar series re-starting 2 March 2015 at 08:00 Pacific Standard Time. This early start time on the west coast will allow our colleagues in Europe to join us at a reasonable hour (16:00 London, 17:00 Paris). The presenter will be Lisa Tauxe and the paper is "Geology of the Wilkes land sub-basin and stability of the East Antarctic Ice Sheet: Insights from rock magnetism at IODP Site U1361" ( One can connect to the seminar using Adobe Connect by going to and entering as a guest. Please see the seminar home page ( for more details.

During the presentation, Lisa Tauxe will demonstrate how to use the program from the PmagPy software suite ( to look at the data from the paper. The data set from the paper is available from the MagIC database ( If you would like help installing the PmagPy software, have trouble downloading the data set, or have any other questions, please feel free to contact Nick Jarboe (

This newsletter may contain workshop and conference announcements, as well as news about new functionality and contributions to the databases. If you wish to contribute to this newsletter please email to If you do not want to receive these emails, please Edit Your Profile on the website. Newsletter  :  Issue 01 - 2015