Seamount Biogeosciences Network -- SBN
Who's Who Listing

SBN Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is intended to determine the direction to be followed in the development of the SBN network and includes broad international representation from the biological and geological communities that study seamounts. The Steering Committee committee will consist of approximately ten members and offers independent oversight of this project, with Katrina Edwards as the first chair with an initial tenure of three years. The remaining members will have a minimum membership duration of two years, with some being available for four, with the hope of a 1/3 membership rotation every two years. Some members are ex-officio members that are also listed as PIís or Senior Personnel, and there is one RIDGE liaison. The remaining members were chosen on basis of missing key disciplinary representation, choosing individuals with a leadership role in their own disciplines. Steering Committee members may be called upon to deliver a keynote or act as discussion leaders at SBN workshops. They also will take on the leadership in writing white and/or review papers.

  • Katrina Edwards (chair), Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute
  • Stan Hart, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute
  • Marcia McNutt, Monterey Bay Aquarium and Research Institute
  • Debbie Smith, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute
  • Hubert Staudigel, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
  • Brad Tebo, Oregon Health and Science University
  • Geoffrey Wheat (NOAA's Undersea Research Program )
  • SBN Senior Personnel

    The Senior Personnel is a focus group that actively will work to establish and further the goals of the SBN network. The network is directed by Lead-PI Hubert Staudigel, including the network development, disciplinary integration, workshop planning, and the user-end of the database development. Co-PI Anthony Koppers will direct the development of the SBN database and website. The rest of the Senior Personnel will take on the cumulative scientific responsibility for the network, while advising the PIís on scientific issues, such as metadata choices and structure, choice and prioritization of data and materials to be archived, relationships of these data to neighboring disciplines, how data are represented in the database, as well as workshop planning and execution. Senior Personnel and the PI's will meet frequently in person, online or in videoconferences that will be held about every three months.

  • Hubert Staudigel (Director, PI), Scripps Institution of Oceanography
  • Anthony A.P. Koppers (PI), Scripps Institution of Oceanography
  • Wolfgang Bach, University of Bremen
  • Katrina Edwards, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute
  • Dave Emerson, American Type Culture Collection
  • Craig Moyer, Western Washington University
  • Debbie Smith, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute
  • Mitch Sogin, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute
  • Karen Stocks, San Diego Supercomputer Center
  • Brad Tebo, Oregon Health and Science University
  • Alexis Templeton, University of Colorado
  • SBN Database Team

    The SBN Database Team is responsible for the development and maintenance of the SBN database and website, but also is actively involved in populating the database with legacy data. This team exists of researchers, software engineers and undergraduate students.

  • Anthony Koppers, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UCSD (overall database and website design, software development)
  • Hubert Staudigel, Scripps Institution of Oceanography (general website design and public relations)
  • Rupert Minnett, Scripps Institution of Oceanography (web software development, visualization)
  • Patty Keizer, Scripps Institution of Oceanography (graphical web design, home office)
  • Jake Perez, Scripps Institution of Oceanography (seamount catalog data entry)
  • SBN Charter Members

    It is critical to the SBN Network to have active involvement from all the critical research disciplines studying seamounts. For this reason we have included key representatives for each sub-discipline as Charter Members. These Charter Members will represent the SBN within their communities and they contribute to the network with advice on the setup of the database, by contributing to the database and workshops, and by testing the website and database.

    Biology     Mn-Oxidizers      Brad Tebo
      Community Structure Craig Moyer
      Molecular Biology Dave Emerson
      Bacteria Stuart Donachie
      Benthic Communities Adele Pile
      Crustaceans  Les Watling
      Ecology Lisa Levin
      Biodiversity  Alex Rogers
        Karen Stocks
        Mitch Sogin
      Vent Biology Lauren Mullineaux
      Extreme Environments  John Baross
      Fisheries  Kim Holland
        Daniel Pauly
    Geobiology Fe-Oxidizers Katrina Edwards
      Subsurface Microbiology Julie Huber
    Biomineralization    Kurt Konhauser
    Biogeochemistry Stable Isotopes Ruth Blake
        Olivier Rouxel
      Surface Analysis Alexis Templeton
        Grant Ferris
    Chemical Oceaography Helium Tracing  John Lupton
      Hydrothermal Systems Geoff Wheat
        Frank Sansone
        Ed Baker
      Noble Gases  Mark Kurz
        Dave Hilton
    Oceanography Biological Jim Cowon
        Dan Rudnick
    Geochemistry Chemical Geodynamics Stan Hart
        Al Hofmann
        Francis Albarede
    Petrology   Dave Clague
        Mike Garcia
        John Sinton
    Geochronology   Bob Duncan
        Anthony Koppers
    Mineralogy Mn Crusts Jim Hein
      Sulfides Steve Scott
        Robert Zierenberg
      Clays Peter Schiffman
        Jeff Alt
    Bathymetry   Debbie Smith
        Dawn Wright
        Dave Sandwell
    Seamount Structure Igneous Hubert Staudigel
      Carbonate Jerry Winterer
    Geophysics Gravity Marcia McNutt
        Tony Watts
      Magnetics  Will Sager
        Jeff Gee
        Gary Acton
    Geodynamics   Don Anderson
    Plate Reconstructions    Paul Wessel
        Rich Gordon
    Special Settings Hawaiian Seamounts Mike Garcia
        Dave Clague
      New England Seamounts Les Watling
      Antarctic Seamounts Alex Rogers
        Sam Mukasa
      West Pacific Seamount Province Anthony Koppers
        Hubert Staudigel
      Arc Seamounts Bob Stern
        Cornel de Ronde
      Near-Ridge Seamounts Mike Perfit
      Louisville Seamounts Jeff Gee
        Anthony Koppers
    Information Technology   Karen Stocks
        John Helly
        Anthony Koppers